Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Scientific Associate of

ICO Awards

news Letter April 2018

January 2018 Number 114

 Previous Articles 

Urbasi Sinha awarded the 2018 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award

 Dr. Urbasi Sinha, Raman Research Institute, India.


The 2018 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award was announced at the Winter College on Optics on February 13th. The whole Award ceremony can be seen at 2018 ICO/ICTP Galieno Denardo Award. The part concerning the ICO/ICTP prize starts at min 11:30 and includes the presentation by the winner. 

The recipient of the award is Urbasi Sinha of the Raman Research Institute, Bangalore, India, for her pioneering research in photonic quantum technologies, contributions to cutting edge experimental research in quantum optics, and extensive and multifaceted outreach activities towards popularizing experimental optical science in India. In India, she created and leads the country’s first laboratory dedicated to research in quantum optics, directing ground-breaking research in quantum information and computing. One of the activities at her lab is investigating a qutrit, which is an alternative approach to trying to increase the number of qubits in a quantum computer. The approach was to developed a very innovative system using the spatial degrees of freedom of a single photon, allowing her to increase the dimensionality of the Hilbert space.

The winner was there with her husband, Aninsa Sinha, who was a recipient of the ICTP Prize in 2016. Her daughter and mother were in attendance as well. Her daughter performed with the band that evening, playing piano and singing and making a very short speech-- “This is a great party” --to enthusiastic applause.


  Images of the down-conversion rings from the Type II Spontaneous Parametric Down-conversion        single photon source in her lab.   














 Next articles

International Commission for Optics

Bureau members (2017-2020):

President:  R. Ramponi;

Past-President:  Y. ArakawaTreasurer:  J. Niemela;

Secretary:  H. Michinel e-mail:,

Associate Secretary:  F. Höller

Vice-Presidents, elected:  Q. Gong, J. Harvey, N. Kundikova, S. Otero, S.-H. Park, A. Podoleanu, L. Sirko, M. Zghal

Vice-Presidents, appointed:  K. D. Choquette, J. C. Howell, C. Londoño, E. Rosas, P. Urbach, G. von Bally, A. Wagué

IUPAP Council Representative: C. Cisneros

Editor in chief: H. Michinel

Editorial committee:
William T. Rhodes, Florida Atlantic University, USA;
K. Baldwin, Australian National University, Australia;
J. Dudley, Université de Franche-Comté, France.