Skip to Content

Affiliated Commission of

Scientific Associate of

ICO Awards

news Letter April 2018

January 2018 Number 114

 Previous Articles 

María L. Calvo: ICO’s candidate to the new board of ISC

 Prof. María L. Calvo.


The ICO has selected María L. Calvo as its candidate to the new board of the ISC, International Science Council. María L. Calvo is an Emeritus Professor at the Department of Optics of the Faculty of Physical Sciences in the Complutense University of Madrid, Spain. She was the Elected President of ICO during the term 2008-2011. Also, since 2017 she is a member of the ICO Committee for the Relationship with ICSU, International Council for Science. 

During her career she has co-authored more than 200 scientific publications in light scattering, optical waveguide theory, photoreceptors, holography, photonics devices and neutron optics. Also, she was part of several commissions and boards both in Spanish and International scientific organisms.

María L. Calvo has worked for the national and international scientific community for more than 30 years now. During that time she has experienced a large number of international forums, in optics and other topics. Already when she was President of ICO she started to initiate contacts with ICSU of which the ICO is an Associate Member since 2005. Thus the importance of the presence of ICO in the ICSU forums. She understood that ICO should have a stronger role in the ICSU structure because of the great value of ICSU forums reflecting the real status of the world of science and, therefore, helping international organizations to focus more effectively in the projected actions and policies. Her work during 30 years of activities will surely provide her with the experience needed in order to face this new challenge. The supraorganization for science and society is a key challenge for the new generations to benefit of the improvement of their quality of life and a better future.



 Next articles

International Commission for Optics

Bureau members (2017-2020):

President:  R. Ramponi;

Past-President:  Y. ArakawaTreasurer:  J. Niemela;

Secretary:  H. Michinel e-mail:,

Associate Secretary:  F. Höller

Vice-Presidents, elected:  Q. Gong, J. Harvey, N. Kundikova, S. Otero, S.-H. Park, A. Podoleanu, L. Sirko, M. Zghal

Vice-Presidents, appointed:  K. D. Choquette, J. C. Howell, C. Londoño, E. Rosas, P. Urbach, G. von Bally, A. Wagué

IUPAP Council Representative: C. Cisneros

Editor in chief: H. Michinel

Editorial committee:
William T. Rhodes, Florida Atlantic University, USA;
K. Baldwin, Australian National University, Australia;
J. Dudley, Université de Franche-Comté, France.